16 Apr 2021

Teachers Shortlisted for the Cambridge Dedicated Teacher Awards 2021

A massive congratulations to Ms Teri Eves, Mr Ross Burrough and Mr Danny Nason who were being shortlisted for the Cambridge Dedicated Teacher Awards 2021 for their commitment and excellence in teaching.

The Awards celebrates and recognises the fantastic work teachers do all around the world. This is a global competition in which students can nominate teachers to express their gratitude. This year, the shortlist was chosen from over 12,000 nominations from 112 countries. Among the 60 shortlisted candidates, 4 teachers were selected from Hong Kong, with 3 from Island School! 

Described by a student as “selflessly dedicating her time and effort to making learning unparalleled” and “empowering us [the students] to be future leaders and global citizens”, Ms Eves’ nomination details her actions as “an awe-inspiring teacher who has definitely gone way above and beyond to support her students”, through her “creative and engaging lessons”, “extremely detailed feedback” and her “almost instant” replies to emails.

Mr Ross Burrough was nominated for inspiring students to be environmental activists through “developing numerous social projects that have had positively impacted different populations in Hong Kong”, including launching multiple projects that supported various groups during the pandemic. He also supported the filming of a documentary to raise awareness of endangered Orangutans as well as led the school’s annual Green Week activity which saw interactive activities.

Mr Danny Nason was nominated by a colleague for “always been an inspiring teacher” who has “developed and shared a range of interactive online lessons” that has made English “interactive and engaging for the students”.  Furthermore, his nomination recognises his effort in “developing students independent reading in Island School, which are inspiring for both staff and students alike”, as well as “supporting online writing classes for female refugees”.

Well done to all the teachers!