School Council

School Council

The Council is the group that represents all areas of our community. It oversees and guides the development of Island School, reviewing budgets, the curriculum and site development. The members of the Council are drawn from the following constituencies.

      • The Council Chair appointed by the ESF Board.
      • Two parents are elected directly by the parent body and one parent nominated by the PTA.
      • Three Teachers and one Support Staff are elected by the staff.
      • Three Community members are nominated by the Chair.
      • The Head Boy and Head Girl.
      • The Principal.
      • A representative of the ESF Chief Executive Officer.

A second Parent from the PTA attends when the member it nominates cannot. Other senior staff attend when needed.

The Council meets approximately five times a year. The agenda varies from monitoring ongoing issues and discussions of new projects that are brought forward by members. Major changes in the school need to be agreed by the Council.

The Council has various committees that also include other members of the community. These committees include:

      • Buildings and Development,
      • Curriculum, Exams and Higher Education
      • Finance
      • Human Resources
      • Risk Management and Critical Incident


School Council Members

Michael Lok, Council Chairman
Michael was President of the Island School Alumni Association 2014 - 2017, and joined Council in January 2016.  Michael went to Glenealy and Island School and served as Head Boy before going on to read law at the London School of Economics & Political Science (LSE) and St. John's College, Oxford.  Michael is now a barrister in Hong Kong, practising from Des Voeux Chambers.
Stephen Loggie, Principal
Stephen has been a principal in Australian primary and secondary schools for over 24 years. This has included being the foundation principal at two schools including the Queensland Academy of Science Maths and Technology which is Australia’s most accomplished IB World School. He teaches Maths, Science and Theory of Knowledge and devotes his leisure time to sport. He is most passionate about ensuring the talent of each student is nurtured to enable them to achieve their potential.
Tania Shao, PTA Representative
Tania is a full time parent of two children attending Island School. She is a Quarry Bay and South Island School alumna, and currently chairs the Island School PTA. Tania attended University of Memphis studying international business, and has worked in Fedex (Memphis) and The Economist Group (Hong Kong).
Lakshmi Jacota, Parent Representative
Lakshmi has worked predominantly with non-governmental organisations around the world, with stints in academia, since the completion of her doctorate from the University of Oxford. She currently works for The Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups as a researcher, analyst and writer, while continuing to be active in other community and service organisations either as a volunteer or Board Member. She has a daughter in Y13.
Christine Meaney, Parent Representative
Christine became an Island School parent in 2011, and is looking forward to her youngest child joining the school in August. In addition to her role on School Council, Christine chairs the ESF Committee of Parents and serves on the ESF Board of Governors. She recently completed a Masters Degree in Psychology and has a special interest in wellbeing and mental health in children and young people.
Rodney Lloyd, Community Representative
Rodney Lloyd is an alumni of Island School and Glenealy Junior School. He has in excess of 15 years investment banking and asset management Compliance experience. In addition he was the co-founder of a variety of technology start-ups as well as a co-founder of the Hong Kong Startup Association.
Cecilia Chan, Community Representative
Cecilia is the former Assistant Trade Commissioner for the Social Sector (Education and Healthcare) at the British Consulate-General in Hong Kong. She has close to 20 years experience in export promotions in the public sector. Prior to that, she has worked in IT and consultancy. Cecilia currently taking a career break for full time parenting.
Sidney Tang, Community Representative
Sidney is an alumni of Island School (class of 2004). He is a registered architect in Hong Kong and has more than 10 years of experience in design and project management. Sidney is a seasoned speaker on design thinking and a keen advocate of STEAM education. He was awarded by NASA at a global competition for his design of a conceptual space station in 2015.
Ross Burrough, Teaching Staff Representative
Ross joined Island School in 2014 as a History and Humanities teacher and now Co-Heads the middle school Explorations program. He has worked as the Environmental Coordinator for the ESF and now looks to drive environmental change with his students at Island School. Ross comes with a background that goes beyond the educational having worked in international events and for logistics companies around the world.
Tom Grigg, Teaching Staff Representative
Tom joined Island School in 2016 as a member of the EAL department. He is in Nansen house and is currently a Year 10 tutor. He has worked in a variety of different educational contexts with students from varied backgrounds, allowing an appreciation of the opportunities and challenges that exist in each individual student’s unique learning experience.
Johnny Wong, Secretary to School Council, Support Staff Representative
Johnny joined Island School in 2013 as the Examination and Data Manager. He oversees the entire exam operation by administering both internal and external exams with IB and IGCSE.
John Stewart, Director of Facilities, ESF Center Representative
Student Representative, To Be Updated
Student Representative, To Be Updated